Classics 6 | Fantastic Contrasts

April 6, 2019 8pm

Alexander Mickelthwate, conductor

ShostakovichFirst Suite for Jazz Orchestra

GershwinSecond Rhapsody for Piano and Orchestra

GershwinRhapsody in Blue

ShostakovichSymphony No. 12 in D minor (The Year of 1917)

This concert features a musical study in fantastic contrasts. From Gershwin’s jazzy and virtuosic rhapsodies for piano and orchestra, featuring Natasha Paremski, composed by a man who was one of the wealthiest composers ever. Contrast this with Shostakovich’s bombastic symphonic statement, created from a Russian soul fighting for his life through music. Despite the differences in Shostakovich’s and Gershwins’ worlds, they each influenced their times through music composed for not only the concert hall, but also for film, musical theater and dance halls, creating works that spoke to their generation.

Oklahoma City Philharmonic Privacy Policy